Not there yet, but I can see it from here

Shasta meadow  4324Finally.

I’m writing the last of Trust Me and finally feel like I’m on the downhill approach to a finish line. Unfortunately, a short trip out of town this weekend meant I couldn’t write the last two chapters. The remaining four scenes are outlined, but I didn’t do that for the final scene yet. Mostly because I’m not sure what happens yet.

I wrote a final scene and hated it, so I deleted the scene. I usually don’t do that. If there’s something that’s not working, I cut the words and put it into a file labeled “scraps.” It gets saved, just in case I can salvage it for parts later. Not this one. It went into the trash. It was not worth saving.

So I know what not to do in the final scene and that’s a start.

Throughout the story of Ben and Lindsey, they and the rest of the small city where they live have been suffering under a heatwave that just won’t break. But as things come to a head, a massive storm rolls through and the rain pours down.

While I was away this weekend, I enjoyed similar weather. Hot temperatures and high winds during the day, but then a brief thunderstorm in the evening. This and a long, boring drive provided some unexpected inspiration for the last twist in the story. And I hope that by the time I get to that last scene, I’ve figured out what happens.

Leave a comment